top of page

clandestine marriages

On 25 March 1754, the Marriage Act passed by the English Parliament came into force, which required parental consent if either spouse was not at least 21 years old. On the other side of the border, marriages were still allowed from the age of 14 for boys and 12 for girls, with or without the consent of the family.

 

Many young would-be brides fled England; the first Scottish village on their route was Gretna Green. The Old Blacksmith's shop, built around 1712, became the epicentre of marriage without parental consent.

Scottish law allowed irregular marriages, allowing almost anyone to perform the marriage ceremony provided a declaration was made before two witnesses. The local blacksmith, known as the anvil priest, and his anvil have become enduring symbols of Gretna Green marriages.

CERTIFICAT.JPG

Philippe Van de Velde, alias Piper's Phil and the blacksmith, Eric Ledoux from Clan Ramsay.

bottom of page

top of page

Les mariages clandestins

Le 25 mars 1754 est entrée en vigueur la loi sur le mariage que le Parlement anglais venait de voter aux termes de laquelle si l'un des futurs époux n'avait pas au minimum 21 ans, il devait alors obtenir le consentement de ses parents. De l’autre côté de la frontière, on autorisait toujours les mariages, à partir de 14 ans pour les garçons et 12 ans pour les filles, avec ou sans l’accord de la famille.

De nombreux jeunes candidats au mariage fuirent l'Angleterre ; le premier village écossais sur leur route était Gretna Green. La vieille échoppe du forgeron, Old Blacksmith's shop, construite aux alentours de 1712 devint l’épicentre de l'activité du mariage sans consentement des parents.

La loi écossaise autorisait en effet les mariages irréguliers permettant à pratiquement tout le monde de célébrer la cérémonie du mariage à condition qu'une déclaration soit faite devant deux témoins. Le forgeron local, surnommé anvil priest, et son enclume sont devenus les symboles durables des mariages de Gretna Green.

CERTIFICAT.JPG

Philippe Van de Velde, alias Piper's Phil et le forgeron prieur, Eric Ledoux du Clan Ramsay.

bottom of page